Travers Stakes Stats and Records

Race Preview, Race Results, Racing news
Travers Stakes has Historical Significance with Remarkable Records and Stats

Travers is the most popular day during the entire Saratoga summer racing meet, featuring the legendary Travers Stakes, dating back to 1864. Nicknamed Saratoga’s Midsummer Derby, The Travers is a Grade 1, $1,250,000 race for 3-year-olds. With such a history of racing, the Travers has established some significant stats and remarkable records.

The 2016 running was truly historic, as Arrogate obliterated a field of 14 of the best 3-year-olds in training. Arrogate won the 1 ¼ mile race by 13 ½ lengths – and set a new Travers record of 1:59.36.

Here are some stats and records through the history of the Travers Stakes.

148 – This year marks the 148th running of the Travers.

14 – Number of horses entered in the 2016 Travers; the largest field in 40 years (1977).

1:59.36 – The track record and new Travers record set by Arrogate in 2016. The previous record was 2:00.00 flat by General Assembly in 1979.

36 – The number of horses who ran in the Travers and later were named Champion 3-year-old. That includes Arrogate, who at 11-1 odds made his record-breaking stakes debut a mesmerizing and memorable one in the 2016 Travers. Arrogate parlayed that victory into a Breeders’ Cup Classic win to earn champion 3-year-old honors.

44% – The percentage of favorites who have won the Travers, but none since 2012 when Alpha (2-1) was co-winner in a dead heat with 33-1 long shot Golden Ticket; the only dead heat in the long, storied history of the Travers. Stay Thirsty won the 2011 Travers as the 5-2 favorite.

48 – The number of times the Travers has been run on an off track (anything other than fast).

5 Record number of wins by a trainer in the race, held by Bert Mulholland starting in 1939 through 1963.

5 Record number of Travers wins by jockey Javier Castellano, starting in 2006 with Bernardini, and including the 2015 upset of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah aboard Keen Ice.

10 The number of times the race has been decided by a nose, most recently when V. E. Day defeated Wicked Strong in 2014 with Castellano aboard, and also in 2010 when Castellano and Afleet Express got his nose down ahead of Fly Down.

$53.50 Largest win payoff ever in the race, when Adonis won in 1945

$49,668,754 – Record amount wagered on Travers day, which occurred when Triple Crown winner American Pharoah was upset by Keen Ice in 2015.

Enjoy all the big stakes races on Travers Day Aug. 26, and best wishes with your winners!