Kentucky Names New Horse Racing Commission Structure

Racing news

On June 21, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission (KHRC) announced their committee structure and members for the upcoming fiscal year, which will run from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017.

Committees are either established by regulation or statute while others are created via ad-hoc. Whichever the case may be, committee meetings are held based off the accordance with the open meetings act.

“We are fortunate to have such a knowledgeable, experienced, and dedicated group of commissioners and equine industry participants supporting our endeavors and look forward to working with everyone over the next 12 months,” said KHRC Chairman Franklin Kling Jr.

There were nine committees announced. They are:

The Rules Committee

Members: Mark Simendinger (Chair), J. Gatewood Bell Jr., John Forgy, Gerald W. Holt, and Bret Jones.

The Safety and Welfare Committee

Members: Pat Day (Chair), Dr. Stuart Brown II, Douglas Hendrickson, Bret Jones, and Daisy Phipps Pulito.

The Race Dates Committee

Members: Franklin Kling Jr. (Chair), J. Gatewood Bell Jr., Kerry Cauthen, Bret Jones, Dr. Foster Northrop, John Roach, and Mark Simendinger.

The Wagering Integrity Working Group Committee

Members: Franklin Kling Jr. (Chair), Chuck Grubbs, Mike Maloney, Dr. J. David Richardson, and Mike Ziegler.

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund Advisory Committee

Members: Dan Bork (Ellis Park), Douglas Hendrickson (KHRC), Bill Landes( Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders), Dr. J. David Richardson (KTOB), and Pete Salmen (Kentucky Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association).

The Kentucky Thoroughbred Breeders’ Incentive Fund Advisory Committee

Members: Stuart Brown II, Kerry Cauthen, Douglas Hendrickson, Neil Howard, and Matthew Koch.

The Kentucky Standardbred Development Fund & Kentucky Standardbred Breeders’ Incentive Fund
Advisory Panel

Members: Kenneth Jackson (Chair), Joe Costa (The Red Mile), Ben Robards, Steve Stewart (Kentucky Harness Horsemen’s Association), Art Zubrod.

The Kentucky Horse Breeders’ Incentive Fund Advisory Committee

Members: Kiki Courtelis (Chari), Sarah Coleman and Frank Penn (Kentucky Equine Education Project representative)

The License Review Committee

Members: Chris Clark, Marc A. Guilfoil, Lesley Howard, and Steve May (steward designee)

Leave a Reply