Kentucky Governor Revamps Horse Racing Commission

Racing news
11 New Members Appointed to Horse Racing Commission

Republican Gov. Matt Bevin announced Wednesday 11 new members and one holdover to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, and a revamped commission structure to enhance one of Kentucky’s signature industries.

“These individuals encompass the character, competence and commitment traits we need to elevate Kentucky’s horse racing industry,” said Gov. Bevin. “We are fortunate to have men and women of high caliber and integrity willing to serve in these roles.”

The one KHRC member reappointed was Dr. David Richardson of Louisville, Chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association’s Graded Stakes Committee, and an equine drug expert.

The 11 new members who will serve 2-4 year terms are:

  • Pat Day, retired Hall of Fame Jockey
  • Frank Kling of Villa. Thoroughbred breeder. Appointed by Governor as new chairman of KHRC. Kling is chairman and CEO of FK Holdings.
  • John Roach of Lexington, a former Kentucky Supreme Court justice who participated in stallion syndications including Pioneer of the Nile, sire of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah.
  • Lesley Howard of Lexington, a member of the board of directors of the Gluck Equine Research Center.
  • Mark Simendinger of Edgewood, former president of Turfway Park in Florence.
  • Doug Hendrickson of Maysville, a former racing commissioner.
  • Kenneth Jackson of Lexington, a founding member of the North American Standardbred Breeders Association.
  • Gerald Holt of Munfordville, a horse owner and breeder.
  • Stuart Brown of Versailles, a veterinarian whose practice specializes in equine reproduction.
  • Brereton C. Jones, Jr. of Midway, Breeders’ Cup Board Director since 2011 and founding member of the Kentucky Thoroughbred Association’s 2020 campaign.
  • Kerry Cauthen of Lexington, a breeders and owner of Four Star Sales.

Bevin said the new commission’s responsibilities include promoting racetrack safety, regulating medical practices, recommending tax incentives to strengthen the horse sector and developing programs to keep Kentucky at the forefront of equine research.

Among the former racing commission members, five had terms set to end this July. Five members had terms expiring in July 2017 and five others in July 2018, said Doug Hogan, a spokesman for the state Public Protection Cabinet.